Gifts the Booklover in your life actually Wants this Holiday Season!

Gifts for Booklovers

Um sorry, when did it become November? How has this year passed so quickly? Have I just been distractd by all of our prep for our upcoming box that I lost track of time? Yes, the latter is most likely true but now I must go furiously shopping for gifts. Here in Aus, the end of the year is a big time for gift giving. Christmas is a mostly secular holiday for us, and there are many other end of year celebrations happening as well. So, now's about the time everyone starts to panic and buys the first paperback they see for their bookish loved one.

If you're being a gift for a booklover, chances are they have hard-copy books literally everywhere. Piled on the floor, falling off tables and double stacked on shelves. 

 
I'm here to say drop that airplane book (drop it!) as there is a better way. Here are some of our suggestions for what booklovers really want this gift-giving season.
 
FYI: We focus on gifts for speculative fiction fans in this article. If your bookworm prefers more contemporary or realistic literature, check out our more general listing here
 
Bookends!
Give them a chance to tidy up some of their favourite titles with a set of themed bookends. Think about the genres of books they like and work from there.

Examples:

Epic fantasy lovers will love these epic dragon egg bookends

Sci fi fans will adore this set of wormhole bookends



Fans of thematic horror may enjoy these stylised barren trees. Reminds me of a hanging tree *shudders*

 
Custom Art

Many SFF fans would LOVE to be in their favourite series, so this is your chance to make dreams come true. There are thousands of amazing artists who create custom artworks for an affordable price. Collect some source images of what series you'd like and your loved-one, and shoot the artist an email asking (nicely) if they have time to complete the commission. But get in fast, artist need time to create so don't leave it too late.


Example


I made this for my partner. Aren't we cute


 


Immersive merchandise

I know, I know book merch is a bit of a no-brainer, but here me out. I specifically mean merchandise that appears in the books they love. This kind of immersive gift can really make a fa s day. Examples

I know, I know book merch is a bit of a no-brainer, but here me out. I specifically mean merchandise that appears in the books they love. This kind of immersive gift can really make a fa s day.


Examples



Hp fans will flip over a replica marauders map; or their very own Horcrux journal.


Six of Crows fans will fall over themselves for a replica of Kaz’s cane, Inej’s daggers or Jesper’s pistols



I know I would lose my mind if someone got me a set of Jack’s Crocodile bar shot glasses or a set of Mad Sweeney’s coins from American Gods.
 


Bookstore vouchers


I don't care how well you know your booklover, you cannot pick books for them. If you have in the past and got it right… bravo on your skills in witchcraft. 
Vouchers, particularly for eBook retailers or Online Bookstores can actually be crazy exciting for a bookworm. They can jump online with you in the room and choose their next reads immediately, or have credit waiting for when they finish book 1 in a series at 2am and need book 2 IMMEDIATELY! 

We always recommend sites like Booktopia, as they're an Aussie retailer and have both print and ebook titles.

Also check out your local independent bookstore to see if they are selling vouchers. Often these shops are an experience to themselves, and your bookish loved-one will enjoy wondering the selves just as much as the bools themselves. I highly recommend the ones that smell like old books!


     











Book Subscription Boxes

Warning SHAMELESS PLUG!
 
Book subscription services are the gift that keeps on giving, literally. Whether it be monthly, bi-monthly or quarterly, your gift will continue arriving well into the new year, reminding your loved-one that you WON Christmas this year! Most come with the option to purchase a set number of subscriptions as a gift, others will require you to cancel the subscription after you have received your chosen number of boxes. In Aus, there are a few boxes to choose from, but make sure you check what kinds of books are available with each subscription, and sign up for the one that is right for your booklover.

For example, don’t sign up to the YA Chronicles if your loved-one doesn’t enjoy reading YA books
Here is a quick rundown of some of Australia’s Best Book Boxes.


 


The Never Never Book Box

Told you there was a shameless plug coming.




 

Bi-monthly
2 Books + 3-5 pieces of bookish merch
Adult and YA Spec-fic books\
$46 per box (shipping included)

Ideal for Fantasy and Sci-Fi lovers. Don’t just take our word for it, watch an unboxing video and see for yourself.


 

The YA Chronicles

Because we’re nothing if not fair.














Monthly

1 book + 2-5 theme-related goodies
$39.99 per box (plus $9.99 P&H)
Ideal for fans of Young Adult fiction, both genre and contemporary. Watch their unboxing vids here

Story Box Library

And now for something completely different


Unlimited online access $4.99 per month This subscription gives you access to hundreds of Picture Books being read aloud by fabulous narrators and Aussie celebrities. This one is great for young kids; or as I like to call them, baby bookworms. It will also be ideal for Primary school teachers, or Child-care workers who want something new and innovative for their class. Check out their site here.

Unlimited online access
$4.99 per month
This subscription gives you access to hundreds of Picture Books being read aloud by fabulous narrators and Aussie celebrities. 
This one is great for young kids; or as I like to call them, baby bookworms. It will also be ideal for Primary school teachers, or Child-care workers who want something new and innovative for their class. Check out their site here.

 


 


 


 So, with this gift giving season all set and ready to go, you can curl up with your favourite novel and rest assured that all your present problems have been solved. 


And if none of these ideas tickled your fancy, check out our more general article over on Bookish By Day’s Blog.


Let us know if you have any other suggestions, or what kind of bookish goodie you’d like to receive as a gift? 


 

For Now, 


Happy Reading

                                 Captain Lyss


Posted November 9th at 7:28am